Australian Researchers’ Mobility Portal

Thursday 1st February 2007

The Australian Government has just awarded 25 students from all over Europe a scholarship worth €30,000 to further develop their knowledge and skills in their field of study, under its ‘Endeavour Awards’ scheme. The scholars will choose to attend courses from a mix of postgraduate, undergraduate, vocational and technical education courses, as well as research and professional opportunities. This year’s awardees come from Austria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, and the UK.

The aim of the Endeavour Awards is to facilitate the sharing of knowledge, strengthen mutual understanding with the people of participating countries and build international linkages and networks. It is a €166 million initiative that offers high-achieving students from Europe and elsewhere in the world the opportunity of studying in Australia in a broad range of disciplines. The award covers tuition fees and credit transfer. It also provides opportunities for Australians to study outside Australia. The Australian government hopes to support over 9,000 students over 5 years.